Fire Civil Service Commission

Purpose of the Fire Civil Service Commission

Wyoming State Statute 15-5-101 defines and requires the establishment of a Fire Department Civil Service Commission. The purpose of the Fire Civil Service Commission is to certify a list of eligible persons to the governing body for hire. 


Each commission consists of three (3) members who shall be appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the governing body.  Each commissioner shall be a qualified elector of the City and serve without compensation for a term of three (3) years and until his/her successor is appointed and qualified.  Not more than one (1) commissioner may be appointed from the governing body, and no officer or employee in the fire or police department is eligible to be appointed, or serve as a commissioner.  

Before entering the duties of their offices, all commissioners shall take an oath or affirmation that they will not appoint or remove any person because of his/her political opinions or for any reason other than the person's fitness or unfitness.  The oaths or affirmations shall be filed with the City Clerk